Home / Boxers




L.Devendro Singh: The 23-year-old boxer reached the quarterfinals of the 2012 London Olympics by beating2008Beijing Olympics silver medallist Purevdorjiin Serdamba of Mongolia. A silver medallist in the 2013 Asian championship and 2014 Commonwealth Games in 49kg weight, the Manipuri boxer will be a strong contender for the gold medal.

Madan Lal: A multiple National champion and the winner of international medals in Cyprus, Pakistan and Finland, Madan Lal will pose a tough challenge for his competitors in the 52kg class. Having participated in the Asian and World championships, he has got enough experience to expect a medal in the South Asian Games.

Shiva Thapa: The talented boxer from Assam has been performing well from his days in age-group boxing. From winning silver medals in the World youth championship and Youth Olympics to becoming the youngest Indian to win an Asian title in 2013 Thapa excelled every year. He became the third Indian male boxer to bag a World championship medal, a bronze, in Doha last year. After his appearance in the 2012 Olympics, the 56kg Guwahati-based boxer is trying to make an impact in Rio Games. The 22-year-old local boy will be the overwhelming champion in the SAG.

Dheeraj: The 20-year-old boxer proved his mettle when he got a silver medal in 60kg in the World Military Games in Mungyeong, Korea, after losing to Algerian Yahia Abdeli in October last year. He will be a medal prospect for the host.

Manoj Kumar: The feisty fighter from Haryana has tasted success at the international level due to his never-say-die spirit. A former Commonwealth Games gold medallist, Manoj has also won two bronze medals in the Asian championship apart from participating in the Olympics and World championship. He will be the man to beat in 64kg.

Mandeep Jangra: A young boxer with a lot of promise, Jangra idolizes his mentor and former Commonwealth Games gold medallist Akhil Kumar. Jangra made everyone take note of his potential by bagging silver medals in the 2013 Asian championship and the 2014 Commonwealth Games. Nicknamed ‘Kartoos,’ Jangra will be a big contender for the 69kg title.

Vikas Krishan: A former World Youth champion and Youth Olympics medallist, Vikas graduated to the highest level to claim the 2010 Asian Games gold medal and a World championship bronze the following year. He participated in the 2012 Olympics and returned to the ring after a break to an Asian championship silver and Asian Games bronze. The 23-year-old boxer should be the hot favourite for the 75kg gold medal.


M.C. Mary Kom: The five-time World champion and London Olympics bronze medallist, Mary Kom is not only a legendary boxer in India but all over the world. She last took part in an event in the 2014 Asian Games where she claimed a much-celebrated gold medal, the first by an Indian woman in the quadrennial event. She will compete in 51kg.

L. Sarita Devi: Sarita Devi is another legend in women’s boxing. Having won three World championship medals, including a gold in 2006, four Asian championship gold medals apart from medals at the Asian Games and Commonwealth Games, Sarita will be one of the star attractions in boxing in 60kg. This will be her first competitive exposure after serving the suspension imposed on her by the International Boxing Association (AIBA) following controversy in the last Asian Games.

Pooja Rani: A 75kg boxer, who will turn 25 later this month, has won a bronze medal in the 2014 Asian Games. Besides, she has got a lot of international exposure to put up a good show in the SAG.


Allahdad Rahemi: The 69kg boxer is a good competitor, who reached the quarterfinals of the Doha International Tournament last year. Rahemi had lost to Commonwealth Games silver medallist Indian boxer Mandeep Jangra in that event.

Khaibar Nooristani: The experienced Afghani has been around for a while and taken part in some elite events including the Asian championship. In the 2013 Asian event in Amman, Vikash Malik had beaten Nooristani to progress to the pre-quarterfinals.

Mohammad Aref Nazari: An experienced boxer, Nazari had taken part in the 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games, where he had lost to Korean Shin Jong-hun in the 49kg pre-quarterfinals. Has also participated in the World championship. He later got promoted to 52kg.

Farhad Sharifi: This boxer participated in the Afghanistan National Championship in Kabul in 2014 in the 49kg category and had finished second after losing to Mohammad Omid Rahemi.


Jewel Ahmed Jony: The multiple National champion of Bangladesh took part in the 60kg category in the 2010 Asian Games and had finished ninth. However, he brought cheers for his countrymen by winning the 60kg gold medal in the 11th South Asian Games in Dhaka. Now he will compete in 75kg.

Mohammad Wahiduzzaman: The 25-year-old boxer has become Bangladesh national champion more than once. In the 2005 South Asian Games in Colombo, he had lost to Muhammad Nisar Khan of Pakistan to end up at the fifth place.

Abdur Rahim: With the experience of fighting in the World championship, Rahim had beaten Sri Lankan Sisira Kumarasinghe in the final to win the 64kg gold in the South Asian Games in Dhaka. This time he will compete in 69kg.

Sajib Hossain: A leading boxer in Bangladesh, Sajib has won medals in the National championship.

Mohammad Al-Amin: He is a promising boxer and among the top three medal hopes from the country. Al-Amin, who last competed in the 2014 Commonwealth Games, will take part in 60kg category.


Tashi Wangdi: The winner of a bronze medal in the 5th Children of Asia Games is a leading boxer of Bhutan.

Tshering Wangchuk: Another top Bhutan boxer who has participated in the Asian championship.

Tashi Norbu: A talented boxer who made an impact by beating Vietnam's Vo Van Que in the Asian boxing championship last year as he secured the country's first win in five years.


Dan Bahadur Darlami: He defeated Bhupendra Thapa in the 60kg title clash to book a ticket to the South Asian Games.

Dipesh Lama: Performed well to beat Mahendra KC and get selected in 75kg category.

Deepak Shrestha: Got the better of Nivas Tandukar to be picked in 64kg.

Prem Chaudhary: He will compete in 52kg.

Dinesh Shrestha: He will compete in 56kg.

Bikash Lama: Will compete in 69kg.


Mohibullah: The 52kg 26-year-old boxer has got a lot of experience and participated in the 2014 Commonwealth Games and last year's Asian championship.

Syed Mohammad Asif: The young boxer has won medal in the Taipei international tournament and has won the 52kg title in the Pakistani National championship.

Niamatullah: The Dhaka Asian Games 56kg gold medallist won the 69kg title in the National championship but will take part in the 56kg class.

Ali Ahmed: Has competed in Asian Games and Commonwealth Games.

Gul Zeb: The young boxer (64kg) competed in the Asian championship in Bangkok last year.

Arshad Hussain: The experienced 25-year-old participated in the 2010 Asian Games. He will compete in 69kg.

Tanveer Ahmed: The 75kg boxer has won the All-Pakistan boxing gold medal.

Sri Lanka:

Sisira Kumarasinghe: Adjudged the best boxer in the Layton Cup, Kumarasinghe (69kg) is one of the most experienced boxers from Sri Lanka.

Gayan Sanjeewa Jayaweera Naiduralage: A President's Cup bronze medallist will compete in 60kg.